Fever Dream: Part 1

The first thought to register, before sounds, sights or even knowing I was awake was the certainty my tongue was permanently stuck to the roof of my mouth and, worse, had transformed into a medium sized cactus while I slept.

Slowly, other sensations began to register. Lights were on somewhere. People were home and talking… or watching TV… or well, voices filtered in from around a corner. Also, and I don’t mean to be indelicate, if I didn’t pee soon the necessary control muscles felt likely to collapse entirely.

Definitely time to wake up.

~~~

You know when you are away from home and you wake disoriented until your brain catches up? Yeah, this wasn’t like that at all.

~~~

The bed wasn’t my bed. The floor wasn’t my floor… and the creepy, cheerful bat referring to herself in the plural was most definitely not someone I knew.

“Well, good morning Sunshine! How are we today?

Seriously, people actually talk like that? Isn’t that a cliche of fiction?

I still had to pee so took a leap in logic… I would not find the needed facility in the familiar place.

“Bathroom?”

It took a bit of effort to manage the one word. At the first consonant, my lips seemed to fuse. By the time I croaked out the syllables, I could taste blood from my now cracked lips.

The Bat in the doorway pointed inside the room to my left. “Right there sweetie. Leave the door open. I have to watch.”

I’d woken up in Hell.

Say Something

